Fee Structure

Fees To Record a “Standard” Document

Effective January 1, 1995, the Illinois Legislature enacted a revision to the Recording Act which provides for the standardization of recorded documents. Those documents recorded without complying to the below requirements dated subsequent to January 1, 1995, which do not conform to the new requirements, will require additional recording fees amounting to twice the base recording fee which would otherwise be collected, less $22.75. The $8.25 charge for the Recorder’s Automation Fund, the $17.50 GIS fee and the $10.00 Rental Housing Support Program surcharge are not doubled.

The following standards are required under the law:

  1. The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11 inches by 17 inches shall be recorded without charging an additional fee.
  2. The document shall be legibly printed in black ink, by hand, typed or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they reproduce clearly.
  3. The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on the top, the bottom, and each side. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to, form numbers, page numbers and customer notations.
  4. The first page of the document shall contain a blank space, measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches, from the upper right corner.
  5. The document shall not have any attachments stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.

A document that does not conform to these standards shall not be recorded except upon payment of the additional fee required under this paragraph. This paragraph, as amended by this amendatory Act of 1995, applies only to the documents dated after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.

Fees to Record a “Standard” Document

As outlined in Illinois Compiled Statutes Ch.55 ILCS 5/3-5018 and CH.55 ILCS 5/3-5018.1
(8 ½” x 11”, white paper, black ink, minimum 10 point type, 3” x 5” blank space in upper right corner, ½” CLEAR margin on all sides, no attachments stapled and/or taped to any page, document contains up to five Property Identification Number (PIN) references, document contains up to five related document number references.)

Documents which are NOT real estate related
Documents which ARE real estate related and were SIGNED/EXECUTED BEFORE 8/1/05

State Law


Most documents which are REAL ESTATE RELATED and were SIGNED/EXECUTED AFTER 7/31/05
State Law

Fees to Record a “Non-Standard” Document
(Applies to Documents Dated After January 1, 1995)

Does not conform to any of the “standard” requirements listed above, document contains six or more Property Identification Number (PIN) references, document contains six or more related document reference numbers, or misc. plats, that are not a subdivision or condo, as a stand alone document — must be at least 11” x 17”, but no larger than 30” x 36” (misc plats, easements, dedications, etc…)

Non-Standard Documents which are NOT real estate related
Non-Standard Documents which ARE real estate related and were SIGNED/EXECUTED BEFORE 8/1/05
State Law


Most Non-standard Documents which are REAL ESTATE RELATED and were SIGNED/EXECUTED AFTER 7/31/05
State Law

Military Discharge Records


No Charge
Subdivision / Condominium Plats

PLATS must be submitted for recording NO LATER THAN 3:30 p.m. due to the time needed to complete the process. Plats submitted after 3:30 p.m. must be returned for recording on the next business day.

Subdivision/Condo Recordings

Miscellaneous Plats

Miscellaneous Plat Recordings (easement, dedications, etc.)

UCC (Uniform Commercial Code) Documents

New Filings, Amendments, Assignments or Continuations and Partial Releases




Search (certified ONLY to the date of request)

In-House Copy Fees

8 ½” x 11” Copies
(Produced from Microfilm, Imaging, or Photocopying)

$1.00 per page up to half the cost of a certified copy

8 ½” x 11” Customer Provided Copies
(time/date stamped with document number, may be purchased at the time of recording only)


11” x 17” Copies
(Produced from Microfilm, Imaging, or Photocopying)

$2.00 per page

24” x 36” Plat Copies
(Of Subdivision, Condominium, or Miscellaneous Plats)

$4.00 per page

Military Service Discharge Records (DD214)

No Charge

Certified Copies

Same as initial recording fee minus the IRHSP fee

           Email/Fax Copy Fee

$1.00 per document
Online Copy Fees

View Data with Direct Search


View/Print Full Documents with Tapestry


$5.95 Per Search

Print Fee $2.00 Per Document

View/Print Full Documents with Laredo


Monthy Minute Plans

Print Fee $.25 Per Page

Laredo Monthly Minute Plans

Print Fee $.25 Per Page

0-250 Minutes  $75.00

251-500 Minutes $125.00

501-1000 Minutes $195.00

1001-2000 Minutes $295.00

2001 Minutes and Up $400.00

$.25/Min Overage

$.23/Min Overage


$.18/Min Overage

$.15/Min Overage

Certified Copies of Document


N/A — Please submit request to our office.