Karen A. Stukel

Will County Recorder of Deeds

Will County, IL
  • Property Fraud Alert
stukel-012e.png

Karen A. Stukel

Recorder of Deeds, Will County, IL

Fee Structure

Fees To Record a “Standard” Document

Effective January 1, 1995, the Illinois Legislature enacted a revision to the Recording Act which provides for the standardization of recorded documents. Those documents recorded without complying to the below requirements dated subsequent to January 1, 1995, which do not conform to the new requirements, will require additional recording fees amounting to twice the base recording fee which would otherwise be collected, less $22.75. The $8.25 charge for the Recorder’s Automation Fund, the $17.50 GIS fee and the $10.00 Rental Housing Support Program surcharge are not doubled.

The following standards are required under the law:

  1. The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound and not a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11 inches by 17 inches shall be recorded without charging an additional fee.
  2. The document shall be legibly printed in black ink, by hand, typed or computer. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they reproduce clearly.
  3. The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on the top, the bottom, and each side. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to, form numbers, page numbers and customer notations.
  4. The first page of the document shall contain a blank space, measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches, from the upper right corner.
  5. The document shall not have any attachments stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.

A document that does not conform to these standards shall not be recorded except upon payment of the additional fee required under this paragraph. This paragraph, as amended by this amendatory Act of 1995, applies only to the documents dated after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.

Fees to Record a “Standard” Document
As outlined in Illinois Compiled Statutes Ch.55 ILCS 5/3-5018
(8 ½” x 11”, white paper, black ink, minimum 10 point type, 3” x 5” blank space in upper right corner, ½” CLEAR margin all sides, no attachments stapled and/or taped to any page.)
Documents Up to Four Pages which are NOT real estate related
or
Documents up to 4 pages which ARE real estate related and were SIGNED/EXECUTED BEFORE 8/1/05
State Law
$37.75
Most documents up to 4 pages which are REAL ESTATE RELATED and were SIGNED/EXECUTED AFTER 7/31/05
State Law
$47.75
Additional Pages or Riders for Assignments $1.00 per page
Additional Document Number References (except Assignments of mortgages, leases, or liens) $1.00 per reference
Additional Document Number References for Assignments or blanket assignments of mortgages, leases, or liens $7.00 per reference
Missing Legal Description (If applicable per Document Requirements) $1.00
 
Fees to Record a “Non-Standard” Document
(Applies to Documents Dated After January 1, 1995)
Non-Standard Documents Up to Four Pages which are NOT real estate related
or
Non-Standard Documents up to 4 pages which ARE real estate related and were SIGNED/EXECUTED BEFORE 8/1/05
State Law
$49.75
Most Non-standard Documents up to 4 pages which are REAL ESTATE RELATED and were SIGNED/EXECUTED AFTER 7/31/05
State Law
$59.75
Additional Non-Standard Pages or Riders $2.00 per page
Additional Document Number References (except Assignments of mortgages, leases, or liens) $2.00 per reference
Additional Document Number References for Assignments for non-standard Assignments or non-standard blanket assignments of mortgages, leases, or liens $14.00 per reference
Missing Legal Description (If applicable per Document Requirements) $2.00

 

Military Discharge Records
Recording No Charge

 

Subdivision/Condominium Plats
PLATS must be submitted for recording NO LATER THAN 3:30 p.m. due to the time needed to complete the process. Plats submitted after 3:30 p.m. must be returned for recording on the next business day.
First Page For a Subdivision $85.75
First Four Pages For a Condominium $85.75
Additional Pages $1.00 per page

 

Miscellaneous Plats
First Four 8.5” x 11” Sections of the Plat if Executed Before 8/½005 $37.75
First Four 8.5” x 11” Sections of the Plat if Executed After 8/½005 $47.75
Additional Pages or  8.5” x 11” Sections $1.00 per page or section

 

UCC (Uniform Commercial Code) Documents
New Filing $45.75
Continuation $45.75
Termination $30.75 plus $5.00 for each additional name
Amendment $45.75
Assignment
$45.75
Partial Release $45.75
Search (certified ONLY to the date of request)
$10.00

 

In-House Copy Fees
8 ½” x 11” Paper Copies
(Produced from Microfilm, Imaging, or Photocopying)
$1.00 per page up to half the cost of a certified copy
8 ½” x 11” Customer Provided Copies
(time/date stamped with document number, may be purchased at the time of recording only)
$1.00
11” x 17” Paper Copies
(Produced from Microfilm, Imaging, or Photocopying)
$2.00 per page
24” x 36” Paper Plat Copies
(Of Subdivision, Condominium, or Miscellaneous Plats)
$4.00 per page
Military Service Discharge Records (DD214) No Charge
Certified Copies
Same as initial recording fee minus the IRHSP fee

 

Online Copy Fees
View Data   FREE
View/Print Full Documents with Tapestry  

$5.95 Per Search

Print Fee $2.00 Per Document

View/Print Full Documents with Laredo  

Monthy Minute Plans

Print Fee $.25 Per Page

Laredo Monthly Minute Plans

Print Fee $.25 Per Page

0-250 Minutes  $75.00

251-500 Minutes $125.00

501-1000 Minutes $195.00

1001-2000 Minutes $295.00

2001 Minutes and Up $400.00

$.25/Min Overage

$.23/Min Overage

 

$.18/Min Overage

$.15/Min Overage

Certified Copies of Document  
N/A — Please submit request to our office.